Open Laboratory 2009 results

 

Some of you might remember my plee, a few months back to nominate any worthy posts from benchtwentyone for the 2009 Open Laboratory competition. Open Lab. is a yearly compilation of the best writing on science blogs as chosen by a panel of judges.

The anthology is composed of the top 50 articles out of an unprecidented 760 submissions. You can see the full list of entries here and the winners here. If you’re interested in reading about science from varied and interesting points of view (and let’s face it, you wouldn’t be here if you weren’t at least a little bit interested), then I heartily recommend a browse through these bad boys.

Anyway, the point of this post, is really, if I’m honest to say… I won!! Or, at least, my post  aspartame and Audrey was one of the top 50, and so I can soon proudly claim to be a published author and display my Open Laboratory badge (not to be sniffed at, thank you). I feel like I’m back at school and I’ve been given me a gold star. 

For what it’s worth, I’d like to say a big thanks to the guest editor for this years anthology Scicurious and the Bora Zivkovic (who has been called the ‘crazy uncle of the scientific blogging community’) for their work on this project, plus all the judges (a list of whom is here). Thanks guys. 

This entry was posted in My writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Open Laboratory 2009 results

  1. Audrey says:

    Wow! Well done. With your genius and a touch of madness from us loyal readers, it seems you can conquer the world! 🙂 I’ll let you know if I get any more bees in my bonnet. By the way heard today on Radio Suffolk they have a slot called the Naked Scientists – think there is a web page on it. Maybe you could do something similar to attract more attention?! By the way Survivors is back on the tele on Tuesday nights – science fiction about a virus pandemic. Missed most of it last night. God bless from your mother in law hopefully to be – Audrey

Leave a Reply

